Flows

Include sending SMS in a workflow

Markdown Version | Reading Time: about 2 min.; Last Updated: 2026-09-23 00:22:22

Just as a workflow lets you send email notifications when a client makes a new booking with you, reminds them of the next appointment, or tells them they have rescheduled or cancelled the booking, you can also include sending SMS in a workflow to send text messages to people's cell phones.

To send SMS you need your own Twilio account and must set up the integration between TuCalendi and Twilio.

In this tutorial you'll see how to include sending an SMS booking confirmation in a workflow.

We'll edit an existing workflow and add a new action that sends an SMS confirmation.

Log in to TuCalendi. Go to the "Flows" menu:

Flows menu

Under the "Workflows (after booking)" option, click "Select" to display the workflows you have available:

Workflow

Click "Edit" on the workflow you want to modify by adding the action to send a confirmation SMS.

Editing a workflow

The workflow is displayed in its current state, and you can add the new action you want.

Workflow with three triggers

In the trigger "A booking has successfully made", we'll add a new action that sends a confirmation SMS.

Click "Add new action" in the corresponding trigger:

Add new action to a triggers

This lets you choose what should happen:

Add action

Select the action from the drop-down menu:

Available actions

Since you want an SMS to be sent when the customer has made the booking, select the action "Send confirmation SMS":

Add action to send confirmation SMS

Choose the confirmation template you want to send, activate the recipients you want the SMS to go to, and click "Add":

Trigger with two actions

You've now added a second action to the trigger "A booking has successfully made". When a customer makes a booking with you, two actions will occur:

  • The confirmation email is sent to the customer's email address.
  • A confirmation SMS is sent to the customer's cell phone.

When you're done with the workflow changes, click "Save" so that your changes to the workflow become active.